Cocoa Banana Cake

Combine:
2/3 cup (150 ml) milk with 1 tablespoon (15 ml) vinegar and set aside. Or you can use buttermilk, rather than souring milk yourself.

Cream together:
3/4 cup (175 ml) butter
One and 2/3 cups (400 ml) sugar
2 eggs

Stir in:
One and 1/4 cups (300 ml) pureed bananas
1 teaspoon (5ml) vanilla

Sift together:
2 cups (500 ml) flour
1/2 cup (125 ml) cocoa (can use 3/4 cup (175 ml) if you like strong chocolate)
One and 1/2 teaspoons (7ml) baking powder
1 teaspoon (5 ml) baking soda
3/4 teaspoon (3 ml) salt

Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture alternately with soured milk. Divide batter between two greased and floured 9-inch round layer cake pans. Bake at 350 degrees F. (180 degrees C.) for 40 to 45 minutes. Cool 10 minutes in pans before turning out onto wire racks. Cool completely before frosting. Makes one layer cake.

Cupcakes: Makes approximately 38 medium cupcakes. Bake 15 minutes at 350 F. (180 C.) They freeze well, by the way.

Cocoa Banana Frosting

Combine:
1/4 (50 ml) cup melted butter
1/4 (50 ml) cup cocoa (or 1/2 cup if you prefer strong chocolate)

Blend in:
1/4 cup (50 ml) pureed banana
2 tablespoons (30 ml) milk
1/2 teaspoon (2 ml) vanilla extract
3 cups (750 ml) sifted icing sugar (but may need more for right consistency)

Blend until smooth.

** If you don’t want to fuss around with making frosting, store bought chocolate or vanilla is fine. But that’s actually just being lazy, isn’t it? ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Cocoa Banana Cake

  1. LOL to your frosting comment, yes – 'tis lazy and I am sometimes. (but I WILL try the actual frosting for certain the first time). I have ALL the ingredients for this one! It just may be cooked up this week in this house!

  2. Mmmm, now THAT'S a cake! Once again, I'll print the recipe off now and keep it until I'm in a baking mood.I made a Raspberry Coconut Slice on Tuesday which I'd not eaten in years (was delicious!) and someone has given me a recipe for a VERY easy Apple Slice which the dear husband has gone APE over. Now, that's really saying something because ordinarily, he is not a big fan of desserts/cakes etc., but this was right up his alley. I'll try to remember to send you a copy of the recipe with my next letter, Eleanor. Oh, and speaking of said letter, I HOPE to make a start on that tomorrow (Friday). Wish me luck!

  3. Hey Eleanor, I just saw these recipes, yeah, I know, tis been a while since my last confession, er, I mean, visit. I just wondered if you'd be interested in contributing to a new food blog a friend and I have just set up? I can send you an invite if you like to join, or, you can just pop by and comment. We're here: http://bakedby.blogspot.com/

  4. Glad you and the boys enjoyed the recipe, Desiree. Appearance has nothing to do with flavour.:) We all learn proper cooking techniques through trial and error, don't we? Even the world's best chefs had to learn the hard way. It's just great that your son is interested in cooking and baking. I know too many adults who can't achieve much more than an instant meal in a microwave … if that. I learned to cook really, really young, and it was just the natural thing to have Stephanie standing on a chair beside me, learning the process from the time she was old enough to “help”. Um, Leigh, how about including TWO recipes with your letter? Raspberries are at or almost at the top of my favourite fruit list and we all love anything apple around here. No rush for the letter if you haven't had a chance to start it yet. Much as I love to get your epic novels, I'm still not back to my writing form. So I'm not exactly without mail to answer at the moment. Some of the letters in my pile are starting to wrinkle from old age. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Shameful, but such is life this year, I guess! On a related note, my blog posts, as well as visits and comments elsewhere, haven't been up to speed, either. So no need for guilt on your part, Alexandra. I know you're out there and I don't feel neglected when you haven't been for awhile. ๐Ÿ™‚ I found the invite to your food blog yesterday and had a quick look 'round – thank you!! I'd love to contribute and will, but after I get myself sorted out a bit. Which could take awhile at the rate I'm going, but I'll get there eventually, I suppose!! ๐Ÿ™‚ My once organized, on top of everything self seems to have gone on permanent vacation. But hopefully the search party can find her and bring her home very soon!! I miss her … a lot. As do my nearest and dearest, I'm sure. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Share a thought

