Heads Up for Music Fans

Have you ever wished for a radio station that played only what you really wanted to hear at that moment? Well, head on over here and make your own. Just type in a favourite artist or song and the elves will create an entire playlist of songs that bear a resemblance to the style of what you typed in. I’ve tried all sorts of different genres, some of it pretty obscure, and they’ve come up with some good stuff each time.

But of course I’ve been stuck on my custom Queen station for awhile. There have only been a few actual Queen tracks, but all of the songs bear at least a passing resemblance to Queen’s style of musical composition. Some I expected, as in Def Leppard freely state that Queen is one of their biggest influences. But lots of others have popped up that I never thought of as being vaguely Queen-like. However, hearing them in this mix, I get the resemblance. Guess that’s why many of them have been on my favourites list at one time or another. There have been a few duds, but for the most part I’ve been pleasantly surprised. You can skip the duds, by the way.

Oh, and the song selections aren’t all the usual Top 40 or Greatest Hits offerings, like you might expect. Some have been known only to real fans album tracks, which I appreciate. I’ve always been the whole album type, rather than just listening to the hits and skipping whatever’s in between. Being the contrary type, everyone else’s idea of a hit isn’t necessarily mine. But you expected that, didn’t you? šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Heads Up for Music Fans

  1. What a cool idea, Eleanor! Thanks for the tip. I just typed in “The Verve” and got a fantastic selection of music similar to that of one of my favourite bands. However, I noted that this service is only free for the first 10 hours! :-/ Ahhh well, it's nice while it lasts!

  2. We liked it so much that we've paid for a trial run. At the price of a cup of coffee each per month, it's pretty cheap entertainment. The clincher was Stephanie pulling up a selection of the traditional blues that Richard loves. Never heard on the radio and mighty hard to find on CD. With both of them twisting on arms, was there a choice? šŸ™‚ Not that it took a lot of twisting, of course, after I came across loads of stuff that I've never been able to find elsewhere.

Share a thought

